Le Mans 24 Hours 2016 Official Yearbook

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Usually despatched the same day from Sydney Australia
2.90 KGS
Gift wrapping:
Options available
Calculated at Checkout
  • Le Mans 24 Hours 2016 Official Yearbook
  • Le Mans 24 Hours 2016 Official Yearbook
Frequently bought together:


English Edition, Author: Jean-Marc Teissedre, ISBN: 9791028301439, Hardcover, Published in 2016, Annual

Even before the 84th Le Mans 24-Hours race began, it was already assured of an exceptional level of media coverage. There are not many events at which Brad Pitt is the star! The Hollywood leading man was on hand as the official starter of the race, and he probably did not expect to have such a hectic weekend. First of all, the rain interfered with his role because the organisers had to modify the start procedure at the very last minute. Then in the race itself the action never let up in all four categories comprising a total of 60 cars at the start, a first since 1955. But it was the finish that beggared belief when the leading car suffered mechanical problems on the last lap handing victory to another manufacturer.

Never in the Le Mans 24-Hours legend, which is full of amazing incidents, had such a scenario unfolded. Thus, Porsche scored its 18th win in the greatest endurance race in the world. Toyota was left to rue a victory that escaped it only four minutes from the finish. Ford made an amazing comeback to the 24 Hours by winning the grand touring endurance category from Ferrari exactly 50 years after the first of its four victories in the overall classification. And Alpine came out on top in LM P2 with the A460 perpetuating a tradition whose last success at Le Mans went back to 1969! The 2016 Le Mans 24-Hours race was cruel for some, unbelievable for others, and it will remain engraved in everybody’s memory, especially those of the 263 500 spectators present.

The way it unfolded and the final result promise an even more thrilling race in 2017 as Audi, Ligier, Ferrari, Corvette, Aston Martin, and of course Toyota, will be more determined than ever to get back into the winner’s circle after their disappointments this year. 

View AllClose